St Paul’s Cathedral has been here for over 1,400 years. It has been built and rebuilt five times, and always its main purpose has been as a
place of worship and prayer.
St Paul's, with its world-famous dome, is an iconic feature of the London skyline. Step inside and you can enjoy the Cathedral's awe-inspiring
interior, and uncover fascinating stories about its history.
Learning & Faith
Lifelong learning is a core part of the our work, delivered through a variety of events by St Paul's Institute, and the
Cathedral's Adult Learning and Schools & Family Learning departments.
History & Collections
For more than 1,400 years, a Cathedral dedicated to St Paul has stood at the highest point in the City. The present Cathedral is the
masterpiece of Britain's most famous architect Sir Christopher Wren.
Behind the scenes, the cost of caring for St Paul's and continuing to deliver our central ministry and work is enormous and the generosity of
our supporters is critical.
Widely considered to be one of the world’s most beautiful buildings and a powerful symbol of the splendour of London, St Paul’s Cathedral is a
breathtaking events venue.
Morning Prayer - transferred to St Martin, Ludgate
Eucharist - transferred to St Martin, Ludgate
Eric George ALEXANDER
Private Eric George Alexander 56th Battalion, The Australian Imperial Force
Private Alexander (Reg No: 1611) was treated at the 2nd Australian Auxiliary Hospital at Southall in Middlesex.
Kathy Alexander, granddaughter, says:
"Eric was born on 31 March 1895 at Kiama NSW (Australia), to John and Christina (nee Stevens) Alexander and grew up on his parents’
farm at Lockhart NSW. He was the eldest of six children, four sons and two daughters.
At the age of 21, in 1916, Eric joined the Australian Army and served in the First World War, he was with the 56th Battalion of the First AIF
and fought in France and Egypt. He was wounded in his left leg, which later was amputated, and recuperated in France and later England before
returning home to Lockhart with a wooden leg to continue farming. He was later discharged from the Army in 1920.
In 1928, Eric married Agnes Lily Hudson Scott. They made their life together on their farm "Caroona" at Lockhart.
Eric and Agnes led very productive lives and welcomed two daughters into their family. Fay was born in 1930 and Gwen in 1933.
Eric enjoyed farming life and ran his property very successfully and founded the famous "Caroona" merino stud with which he won numerous first
and championship prizes. He enjoyed a game of lawn bowls and his trophy collection steadily grew and also was a keen card player. Eric was the
President of the Lockhart Show Society during the 1950s and the driveway to the show grounds was dedicated to him in 1994, being named the "E G
Alexander Memorial Drive" and was opened at the Lockhart Show by his daughter, Gwen and witnessed by four of his six grandchildren, Heather,
Alex, Andrew and Kathy.
In approximately 1960 Eric and Agnes retired and moved to Wagga Wagga NSW, where Eric continued his love of lawn bowls and cards.
After a life of 45 years together, Agnes passed away in January 1973. Eric passed away on 12 July 1977, at Wagga Wagga, he was 82. Eric and
Agnes were survived by their two daughters and six grandchildren.