Latest News
Today at the Cathedral View More
8:00am Morning Prayer
8:30am Doors open for sightseeing
8:30am Eucharist
10:00am Walk with Little Amal
12:30pm Eucharist
4:00pm Last entry for sightseeing
5:00pm Choral Evensong
5:30pm Cathedral closes

Thirty new deacons ordained at St Paul's in joyous ceremony

One of the most joyous ceremonies in the Cathedral's calendar has seen 30 men and women from across the Diocese of London ordained as deacons.

The service, on Saturday 29 June, saw the candidates presented to the congregation and the congregation then giving its assent for the candidates to be ordained. Each deacon was presented by supporting friends who have accompanied him or her on the journey to ordination.


This years candidates were the first intake of new clergy following the Diocese's launch of Capital Vision 2020, a strategy for serving London in a way that is 'confident, compassionate and creative'.

At the service, the Bishop of London preached a sermon encouraging the deacons as they take on their new ministry.

He began by saying to the congregation: "You could have been at Wimbledon; you could have been with Mick Jagger at Glastonbury, but you have chosen to be here because this calling and commissioning of thirty new deacons as agents of the compassion of God that we see in Jesus Christ has the potential to make a transforming impact on our church, our own country and beyond."


The main part of the ceremony saw the Bishop lay his hands on the heads of the candidates, before they were each vested in a white stole symbolising the liturgical role of deacons in the Eucharist. At the end of the service they were given the principal symbol of ministry - the New Testament.

The office of deacon is a step on the path towards priesthood and follows two to three years of training.

New Diocese of London deacons:

John Ash, St Michael, Chester Square
Matt Banks, Christ Church, Mayfair
Tom Buchanan, St Margaret, Lothbury
Mark Fox, St Margaret, Lothbury
Mark Jackson, All Souls, Langham Place
Christopher Landau, St Luke, West Kilburn, and Emmanuel, Harrow Road
Robin Sims-Williams, St John the Evangelist, Hyde Park

Sue Makin, St Anne, Hoxton
Gloria Naylor, St Mary, Islington
Richard Springer, St Peter, De Beauvoir Town

Lesley Bilinda, St Andrew, Fulham Fields
Alex Cacouris, St Stephen, East Twickenham
Andrew Downes, St Nicholas, Chiswick
Phil Hoyle, Shepherds Bush Missional Community and St Stephen & St Thomas, Shepherds Bush
Tim Hughes, Holy Trinity, Brompton, with St Paul, Onslow Square, and St Augustine, Queen’s Gate
Melanie Marshall, St Michael & All Angels, Bedford Park
Daniel Millest, Holy Trinity, Brompton, with St Paul, Onslow Square, and St Augustine, Queen’s Gate
Keir Shreeves, Christ Church, Turnham Green
Carys Walsh, St Luke and Christ Church, Chelsea
Phil Williams, Holy Trinity, Brompton, with St Paul, Onslow Square, and St Augustine, Queen’s Gate

Charlie Lacey, St Ann, South Tottenham
James Yeates, St Michael, Highgate, and All Saints, Highgate
Diana Young, St John-at-Hampstead

Simon Cuff, Christ the Saviour, Ealing
Andrew Dand, St Stephen, Ealing
Malcolm Finlay, St John, Southall
Dawn Jewson, St George, Southall
Karlene Kerr, St Mary, Harefield
Johannes Roth, Emmanuel, Northwood
Richard Thomas, St Paul, Ealing