Who We Are & Contacts
Today at the Cathedral View More
7:30am Morning Prayer
8:00am Eucharist
8:30am Doors open for sightseeing
12:30pm Eucharist
4:00pm Last entry for sightseeing
5:00pm Choral Evensong

Cathedral Governance

The members of the Chapter, the Council and the College of Canons together comprise the Corporation of the Cathedral Church of St Paul in London, which is the legal entity which is responsible for the life, work and witness of St Paul's.


The Chapter is the principal governing body of St Paul's. Its members include the Dean (as its Chair) and the four Residentiary Canons together with up to four Lay (not ordained) Canons. Vision, strategy and policy are overseen by Chapter on behalf of the Corporation of St Paul's, to which it reports, and are developed in consultation with the Bishop and the Cathedral's other governance bodies.

The Chapter is responsible for oversight and management of worship and prayer, mission and education as well as buildings and finances, and is advised by subcommittees including external advisors. The Registrar, Emma Davies, is the Cathedral's principal administrator and lay officer, and assists Chapter in carrying out its work, overseeing more than 150 full-time staff and hundreds of volunteers.
Chapter member profiles

Cathedral Council

The Cathedral Council furthers and supports the work of the Cathedral in many capacities including spiritual, pastoral, evangelistic, missionary, social and ecumenical. It also reviews and advises upon the direction and oversight of that work by the Chapter.

Sir David Brewer, KG, CMG, CVO, JP, Chair The Bishop of London (vacant)
The Dean The Canon Pastor
The Chancellor The Treasurer
The Precentor Mr Bernard Donoghue
Rt Hon Stephen Timms MP Ms Kathryn McDowell, CBE
The Revd Prebendary Guy Pope Mr Gavin Ralston
Mr James de Sausmarez Mrs Catherine McGuinness
Mr Chris Allen Paul Gray
Richard Gough Robert Bowles
The Revd Prebendary David Houlding   


College of Canons

The College of Canons deals with the election of the Bishop of London and advises the Bishop when requested. It also receives and considers the annual report and audited accounts, as well as discussing other matters raised.

The Dean, Chair Non-Residentiary Canons
Area Bishops Assistant Bishops
Prebendaries Residentiary Canons 
Lay Canons Suffragan Bishops 


St Paul's Cathedral Enterprises Ltd Board of Directors

St Paul’s Cathedral Enterprises Ltd is a company set up to financially support the Cathedral Church of St Paul in London by engaging in commercial activities. The generated surplus, after deduction of operating expenses, is donated in its entirety annually under a deed of covenant to St Paul’s for its general purposes and the furtherance of its Christian mission.

The Reverend Canon Tricia Hillas, Chair  
Helen Platts - Head of Finance Emma Davies - Director
The Reverend Canon Jonathan Brewster - Director Duncan Smith - Director
Selina Fellows - Non Executive Director Anthony Bird - Non Executive Director
Elizabeth Smith - Company Secretary  

Share Holder (100%) The Corporation of the Cathedral Church of St Paul in London